Dallas Stars Development Camp Scrimmage 2016

I met up with some great Twitter hockey fans at the Dallas Stars prospect development camp scrimmage. Naturally, I had to take my camera and try my hand at shooting hockey. It turns out that hockey photography is really difficult. There are so many variables to take into account – lighting, the glass (color, distortion, scratches), reflections, etc. I did some things right and did some things wrong. I fought with my aging and ailing equipment. I got a few shots that are not up to my personal standard but that I do not mind sharing. This is a learning process. Before you are good at something, you have to be bad at it.

Here are a few things I learned:

  • Wear black – If you are shooting through the glass there is reflection and that can mess with your photographs. Thankfully, I wore black out of needing to wear something warm. It was not until after I got to the rink that I realized what could have gone wrong had I not worn black.
  • Camera settings – continual focus, use burst mode, wide aperture (f2.8-4), manual white balance (or just auto and do a lot of post-correction). These are things that I figured out on the drive home and while looking through my shots.
  • The glass flexes – I know this from playing, but you really have to be aware of your surroundings so you do not break a lens, end up with a black eye, or both. It is always worth reminding yourself of that fact. Keep both eyes open if possible. The game is very fast.

Without further ado, here are some photographs from that learning experience:

DevCamp1

Desrosiers4

Desrosiers1

DevCamp5

DevCamp4

DevCamp7

DevCamp8 DevCamp9
CampFinale

Leave a Reply

